There are 15 sections that make up Witney Buttercross Scout Group – 5 Beaver colonies, 5 Cub packs, 4 Scout troops and 1 Explorer Unit. Most of these sections meet at the Scout Hut on week nights, but some meet at Madley Hall in Madley Park or at the Blake School in Cogges.


Beavers are the youngest scout members and usually meet weekly. You can join from age 6 to 8.

Churchill Beavers >
Cogges Beavers >
Montgomery Beavers >
Mountbatten Beavers >
Nelson Beavers >


A Cub Pack can have up to 36 Cubs and is split into groups called Sixes. They are age 8 to 10 1/2.

Cogges Cubs >
Kipling Cubs >
Madley Park Cubs >
Marlborough Cubs >
Rudyard Cubs >


Each Scout Troop consists of small units of six to eight Scouts called a Patrol. Scouts are age 10 1/2 to 14.

Bronze Barrow Scouts >
Charles Early Scouts >
Langel Scouts >
Windrush Scouts >


Explorers are age 14 to 18 and are members of the District rather than the group.

Witney Explorer Scout Unit >